These things take time.

I wanna know why pain makes me stronger
I wanna know why good men die
Why am I so afraid of the dark
But I stray from the light?

Oh, there’s so many questions stirring in me

And I wonder why
Sometimes the truth ain’t easy to find
I wanna know all the answers
But I’m learning that these things take time
Yeah, these things take time (Sanctus Real, These Things Take Time).

Riding to work the other day, I listened as the above song played and the Honda hummed along down the cemented freeway in the early morning light. It’d be nice, I had been thinking, if life didn’t involve so much waiting and patience and longsuffering. It’d be nice if, like on Amazon, you placed your order and received your package via next day air.

But it doesn’t generally work that way, as I’ve previously written (SEE HERE). I’ve shared some of my thoughts about what the Lord teaches in longsuffering, by way of making us seek and wait. The question is now, What is he teaching you? What lessons have you gleaned from your trials? What are you learning right now? What’s your story?

I’m all ears. I need your help, too. And in the process, I think others will be edified. So speak, and let the truth shine with love (Ephesians 4:25). It’s not, after all, a solo trip we’re all making.

Photo.

2 thoughts on “These things take time.

  1. Contentment.
    Here are some quotes from The Free Grace Broadcaster by William Swan Plumer. So convicting. I’m not even through the reading but have almost copied the entire article into my journal.
    “[Contentment] submissively recieves what is given. It thankfully enjoys present mercies. It leaves the future in the hand of unerring wisdom.”
    “It’s opposites of envy. There is not a more vile or more violent passion. It is full of deadly malice. When a man’s heart grows sick at the superior worldy success of others and hates them on that account, he is not far from ruin. If thine eye is evil towards thy neighbor because God is good to him, it is proof that thou quarrelest with Providence. And if God should give to one of His children more than He gives to you, has He not a right to do what He will with His own?”
    “It is of the greatest importance to our peace and usefulness that we settle it in our minds that all fretting care about the things of this life is both a sin and folly.”
    “Contentment is opposed to murmurings and repinings against God’s providence and dwells with her sisters gratitude, submission, and resignation.”
    “If you can say nothing clearly to the glory of God, it is wise to be dumb and not open your mouth.”

    • Great stuff, thanks for sharing those quotes. Contentment is at the heart of my daily struggles as you well know. Really good to have these reminders, though.

Leave a Reply

