Let that be enough.

I wish I had what I needed
To be on my own
‘Cause I feel so defeated
And I’m feeling alone

And it all seems so helpless
And I have no plans
I’m a plane in the sunset
With nowhere to land

And all I see
It could never make me happy
And all my sand castles
Spend their time collapsing

Let me know that You hear me
Let me know Your touch
Let me know that You love me
And let that be enough (Switchfoot).

I drove to work the other day as this song played, thinking about life, feeling like that plane in the sunset with nowhere to land. Defeated. Helpless. Plans fall apart. What am I supposed to do now? Life doesn’t go the way you expected. And furthermore, all the things I thought I wanted and have been pursuing for the last few years have seemed to have blown up in my face. The castle crumbles along with your hopes.

But even as I’ve watched my life plan catch fire and blow away with the wind, God has been gently pointing back to his always-with-me, tenaciously-pursuing, life-bestowing love. A song like this, for instance, with the sweet reminder that God hears, God reaches out and touches, he reminds me of his love, and by grace he makes it enough.

A friend, Lauren, posted another song, Still, my soul be still, on Facebook, and as I listened I was reminded again of this same reverberating truth—God is with you. There you are in your broken, crushed state, and God quietly touches you. He quietly whispers, God is at your side. And somehow it’s enough. Enough to comfort, enough to strengthen, enough to help you through the rest of the day without tripping over your own broken heart.

Davin died almost two months ago now, but I think about him all the time. Sometimes he’s my first thought in the morning and my last thought at night. He’s with me when I feel depressed, reminding me of the glory to come and the peace we have in Jesus. He’s with me when I feel like quitting life, his story a reminder of enduring hope, calling me onward. His example presses on me to remain steadfast under bitter disappointment. And above all, he’s my minute-by-minute reminder that God’s love, present in my every moment of need, is enough.

I don’t understand what God is doing with my life. I don’t understand where the pain is leading us, or where this plane is going to land. I do not know. But I do know that God is enough. That’s my prayer today:

Let me know that You hear me
Let me know Your touch
Let me know that You love me
And let that be enough.

Photo credit.

Leave a Reply

