You haven’t lost me yet.

All attempts have failed
All my heads are tails
She’s got teary eyes
I’ve got reasons why

I’m losing ground and gaining speed
I’ve lost myself or most of me
I’m headed for the final precipice

But you haven’t lost me yet
No, you haven’t lost me yet
I’ll sing until my heart caves in
No, you haven’t lost me yet (Switchfoot, Yet).

Life is hard. A maxim you don’t really need to defend to anyone, except perhaps the dreamy-eyed utopian philosopher who is in complete denial of reality. There are seasons when the thorns and thistles seem to overwhelm the fruit you’re trying to produce, when the coin toss always goes against you, when tears and frustration and angst far outweigh the time we stand in the sunshine of life.

I have failed, crashed, and burned. My attempts have been futile instead of fruitful. I haven’t done what I’d hoped to have done by 30, or 40, or 50. It was harder than I’d ever have imagined, and it’s brought me to my knees. As the lyric goes, providence has brought me to the precipice of despair and defeat.

And when you’re here, there’s one truth in particular that holds it all together—God hasn’t lost you yet. It’s here that the promise for present and future deliverance comes to God’s children: “No one is able to snatch [God’s people] out of the Father’s hand” (John 10:29). It’s been ugly and may be again in the future, but God won’t let go. He hasn’t lost you yet. And he won’t.

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (Psalm 73:26). Life isn’t about my ability to hold on as much as it is God’s ability and determination to hold onto me through everything. Even when I can’t hold on anymore, God has still got a hold of me.

I remember a line from the Shawshank Redemption, in which Andy Dufresne writes to his friend, “Remember Red, hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.” It gives me courage that no matter how low I’ve sunk in life, there is always hope. Because God is always holding on, there’s a 9th inning rally left in us all. And even when it doesn’t seem to miraculously come together (because many times it doesn’t), there I am still, being held on to.

Leave a Reply

